A wet and cold start to autumn …

So I have been missing in action, again  … for a long period of time.

But truly, the lack of posts is not due to the lack of wanting to do so. I fear it is just very difficult to translate the “want” into action because the will is weak. But it certainly surprised me and warmed the cockle of my heart to have received messages from new readers who had only just recently stumbled across my blog and to learn of new ones following this blog even when it is  more dead than alive.

You people made me feel awful for not trying harder to share, do you know that?

So as a gesture of appreciation, I shall try to post something … every now and then. And this time, I shall try that little bit harder to keep to my words lah!!! 🙂

As my first sharing for 2020,  below are the latest scenes taken from our balcony, yesterday evening after nearly a full day of rain.

Yup, we might have only just stepped into the autumn season  … but by the look of those  snow on the top of the mountains across Lake Geneva, it is as if it has quickly given way to winter!

The calm and serene look belied the cold snap that had decided to pay a visit this early in autumn.

The temperature dropped below 10°C and we also had some sleet,  as had been forecast.  However, in my eagerness to  take advantage of the lull in the wet weather so that I could quickly go out and do some foraging after being stuck at home for the past few days, I was totally oblivious to the possible implication of the drop in temperature to my plants on the balcony!

I had forgotten that I have a few plants that would need some protection from the cold shock.

And so I got a small surprise when I went on the balcony to take a few snapshots of the beautiful evening skyline and saw that my sweet potato vines which had been looking so lush just 2 days earlier had been reduced to a wilted mess!

Haizzzz … this year has not been a very good year for the balcony garden … but … it has been an excellent one for foraging, so far. But I’ll share more of that later lah.

 

 

Leave a comment