Sea of yellows …

I started this entry about 2 weeks ago … but again it took this long to choose the pictures, reformat and upload them, write the entry and publish it! I just had to share it (even though the motivation to do so had started to slowly disappear over time) mainly because it took us several visits … spread over several years … before we finally got to see these early spring beauties in all their blooming glory. And I wanted to have it documented so as to be able to look back one day and reminisce on the wonderful experience it was to be in woods at the start of spring this year.

15543659344418-01

Last year, we managed to get quite a good show. However, even though we were there around the same time as this year … because last winter was so freezing cold, with temperatures that dropped below double digits and snowfalls that stretched well into early spring, … we ended visiting them a little too early. Many were already blooming beautifully then … but just as many were still just unopened buds. But this year our perseverance paid off … or rather our timing was spot on! 😊

We almost delayed our visit this year as the hubby had felt unwell, just a few days before the planned visit. But fortunately, by making sure that he took daily doses of rosehip tea and elderberry syrup which I had made from my foraging jaunts last year, he felt well enough for us to proceed with our visit on the proposed date. It was good timing as we were told by one of the regular visitors to this annual floral spring show that the wild daffodils had been blooming for 2 weeks already!

So on the second day of spring this year, we made our annual visit to the little woods located about half an hour away by train from Lausanne … hoping fervently that we would be lucky this year. And thankfully we did.

Finally on my fifth visit I really got to see these woods literally covered with wild daffodils … exactly the way I had seen them on some pictures when I first started looking up information about this hidden gem!

15543826749277-01-01

What a beauty … and what a beautiful day it was to be spending it amongst these early spring beauties! We lurveee it … 😁

ps: As I take photos using only my handphone nowadays, please excuse the quality of the photos …

15553533482880-01

15543725253714-01

Panorama

While others chose to sit in the open area under the sun … we chose to have our little midday break in the midst of the woods among the elusive spring blooms (‘elusive’ because we had not been as lucky on our previous visits – five if we include this year’s)! Our ‘petite pause’ had hardly ever tasted so good as it was in these woods! 😋

15543824900405-01

15543724115783-01

On that day, we saw and met a lot more people in that woods than in previous years … with several coming in big groups. This, we could only assume, was either because in previous years we had come at the wrong time … or because more and more people were getting to know about this little haven!

While it is nice to be able share these beauties from nature with more admirers, however, we also hope … and which was also the fervent wish of one of the more regular visitors we talked to that day … that the numbers of yearly visitors would not increase too much. Nothing is worse than having to rub shoulders with so many other people while trying to admire these spring beauties and then having them carelessly trampled on by inconsiderate visitors who might be wanting to have their photos taken amongst the sea of yellows!

4 thoughts on “Sea of yellows …

  1. Hi Allan, so sorry for this long delay in replying as I have not logged into this blog for a very long time. Appreciate you asking for permission to use a photo of mine. You are welcome to use it as long as it is stated that the photo is taken from my blog (and I am not in the photo that you are sharing). Cheers. 🙂

    Like

  2. Don’t know if you will get this, but I am trying. I am a graduate of the Medical School at the University of Lausanne and was running through some old memories. I wanted to let my friends on FACEBOOK know were my mind was and borrowed a photo of yours of Mon Repos. If wish acknowledgement, tell me wording you prefer.
    allan.bruckheim@gmail.com

    Like

  3. Hello Loïc,
    Thank you for your kind comments. It gave me such a warm feeling reading your comments that I was so tempted to quickly write a short post and publish it! hahaha 😁 …

    Unfortunately, even though I enjoy writing and sharing, I find that writing for this blog takes up too much time, … precious time which I could have used to do something else such as going for foraging, for eg. And it is for this reason that I had not been sharing for several months, despite my ambitious attempt early this year to start sharing again .

    But your kind comments have definitely started to rekindle a small spark in me. So, I shall try to write again even though I might not be able to do it often. We’ll see, ok?

    Like

  4. Hi! How are you? I just discovered your blog and I really appreciate the way you write. These flowers are really beautiful! I hope I can get there sometime. Unfortunately, it is clear that there are more and more tourists (living in Château d’Oex and taking the train every day to go to school, I often meet huge groups of tourists. It’s annoying but at the same time, I’m telling myself that I’ve already done the same thing when I went abroad so I don’t blame them). I hope you still like living in Lausanne. I go there from time to time and I will probably leave Chateau d’Oex to live there in the future. Anyway, as I said before, I really like your writing style. I have a poor level of English (I am 18 years old) but I can read your texts & understand them :)I hope you will write other texts so that we can continue to follow your stories:) See ya

    Like

Leave a comment