Foraging for hazelnuts …

I started taking notes of the various places where I had seen the hazel trees fully laden with nuts as far back as in late spring. And from the sheer number of hazelnuts that I saw on many of the trees, I was gleefully anticipating an abundant hazelnut harvest for myself this year.

In fact, I was so eager to start on my hazelnut picking this year that I actually tried picking them as early as in late August before I would be returning to Singapore for a short visit home. I had hoped that maybe … just maybe, they might already be ripe for picking. Alas much to my disappointment, they were not.

Unfortunately for me, by the time I came back in late September, many of these nuts were no longer on the tree. It would seem that I had missed that crucial period while I was away in Singapore … aarggh!!!

No doubt, it was frustrating to have to search in several places in order to get my hands on the hazelnuts when they were so many of them just a few weeks earlier. But … I did get my hazelnuts, even though I had to expend more time and more energy than I had anticipated. So despite the setback, I am still very thankful for being able to gather some hazelnuts this year. 🙂

dscn5243aBack in late August when the hazel trees were full of nuts … which unfortunately were still green and had not ripened.

sam_6356aSo tempting, are they not?

sam_8642aThe hazelnuts taking a brownish tint to indicate that they have started to ripen. Once ripened, the nuts will fall off easily from the husks. Especially when a strong wind blows, many will fall to the ground. For those that are still attached to the husk (as in the picture above), just a slight nudge will help the process along.

sam_5239aAnother variety of hazelnuts which is not as common. Instead of the usual green colour, the leaves are brownish red …

sam_5238a.. and the nuts are in a beautiful shade of red. I had noticed this particular hazel tree before, but I had never paid much attention to it. But this year, I could not help but notice its beautifully coloured nuts … and I decided that I would try to gather some to taste.

dscn5343aThe red hazelnuts (or filbert) after they have ripened.

sam_8810aMy modest harvest of hazelnuts for this year … so far …

sam_8931a…. including these from the red hazelnut tree. These red hazelnuts actually tasted much nicer than the common green ones. A pity that I did not pick them before … because the place where this tree grows has been slated for redevelopment. So I cannot help but wonder whether the tree will still be there next harvesting season … haizzz … 😦

Although I would have liked to forage for more hazelnuts, I chose to spend more time foraging for another type of nuts which is a big favourite of ours, after realising that its season had started! But more about that in another post lah! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Foraging for hazelnuts …

  1. Alhamdullilah. Memang seronok dapat petik buah dan kekacang percuma Ros. Cuaca pun elok saja. InshaaAllah, I akan usahakan menulis entri tentang cendawan ok?

    Like

  2. Sity….seronok sungguh baca entri you…! Mesti cuaca nyaman je waktu you berdua pergi memetik buah dan kekacang. Dapat saya bayangkan nikmatnya. Macam-macam resepi boleh diolah dengan dua jenis buah dan kekacang tu. Murah rezeki you dan Paul. Saya tunggu entri mengutip cendawan pula…heheheeee

    Like

Leave a Reply

