My forage jaunt in summer …. plum treats in the neighbourhood …

Apart from blackberries and wild herb plants, I also spotted other edible treats during our walk on Swiss National Day. But for a number of them …. summer is not quite the season to be picking them … so I must learn to be patient and to wait for autumn to come before I shall have the pleasure of picking them from the trees.

And as I was strolling home along a stretch of street (while the hubby had to rush home) …

SAM_8461.B

… I chanced upon this small cherry plum tree at an old block of flats that has been earmarked for redevelopment … but which has lots of fruit trees growing within its small compound.

SAM_8463.B

I could not resist stopping so as to snap several photos of the lovely looking cherry plums (although I had to refrain myself from trying to pick any as the tree is in a private land even if most of its residents had already moved out) … and, while I was doing so, I was reminded of the small cherry plum tree that I had spotted closer to home just 3 months earlier.

DSCN1639.A

This was how the small cherry plum tree near home had looked like at the end of May. The branches were literally covered with mini plums. So I was just bidding my time … waiting for the plums to ripen before I would come and pick some to taste.

Unfortunately I was very, very late in coming … having had to make an unplanned trip home to Singapore for more than a month. When I made my way down the small street below us last week to check out on the cherry plum tree …

SAM_8758.B

… not a single cherry plum (ripe or otherwise) could be seen on this small tree! What poor luck … haizzz. 😦

Still … if one is fated to eat plums, then he or she will! And I believe that I was meant to find and eat free organic plums that day.

While I was looking for some clumps of wild thyme that I had spotted growing around the area before I had left for Singapore almost two months ago, I saw something else that got me all excited.

SAM_8744.A

I saw this tree just a few metres away from where I was looking around for the wild thyme …

SAM_8748.A

… and then I caught sight of this. Jackpot … wohooo!!! 😀

SAM_8792.A

The colour and size might not be the same … but they are still the same kind of fruit … and they are free and they are organic! What more can I ask! hehehe …

SAM_8828.B

When I approached the tree, I saw that there were quite a number of plums that had already fallen to the ground and some were still in very good condition. So I decided to collect these instead of picking fresh ones from the tree as it would be a pity to leave these to rot. Even while I was picking those on the floor, some fresh ones were falling all on their own from the tree.

SAM_8802.A

I did not pick a lot … but just enough for us to try … as I knew that I would be going back again to the tree to gather more plums.

SAM_8764.B

The orphan plum tree as seen from our balcony. All these years that we have been staying here, I had not really noticed nor did I know that this is a plum tree. I had thought that there was no more plum tree in the neighbourhood when the one tree that I had discovered was felled more than two years ago with the rest of the apple trees that had been growing in a small orchard below.

However, I was wrong. And this tree was not the only one in the neighbourhood.

SAM_8754.A

This is another plum tree … which I found while I was looking at the elderberry trees growing next to it.

SAM_8756.B

However, unlike the other tree, there are not as many plums for picking from this one. And the tall grasses growing underneath it were also a bit of a turn off. Nevertheless, if I had not found the other tree, I am quite sure that I would still have had a go at picking the plums from this one! 🙂

So two days later, I came back to the same tree with proper utensils … and with the hubby in tow.

SAM_8837.B

While the hubby worked at filling the burlap bag with fresh plums plucked from the tree …

SAM_8840.B

… I chose to pick those that had fallen to the ground. It would be tempting to ignore them and try to do some plucking of my own … but … they are still good enough to eat and some of these had only just fallen while the hubby and I were gathering the plums. So … why waste, right?

The hubby would have lurved to continue with his picking … but the sky was starting to turn grey and I could feel the humidity in the air, thus indicating that the rain would be paying us a visit soon.

So we reluctantly went home with our small little bounty.

SAM_8878.B

Okay, not quite a small bounty … as we gathered and picked about 7kg worth of purple plums. 🙂

The hubby and I are quite eager to go and pick more plums … but, first, I have to make sure that those that we have picked will not go to waste and left to rot. So I have been surfing the Internet for all the different ways of using these plums and to find out how to store and preserve them.

To date, I have tried my hand at freezing some of them and I have also made plum cake, plum salsa and plum jam. But there are still a few more ideas to try … which should prove quite interesting.

I cannot wait for my next trip down there as I simply lurveee foraging, not you???! 😀

Other entries on foraging

 

4 thoughts on “My forage jaunt in summer …. plum treats in the neighbourhood …

  1. It could also be that people are simply no longer able to recognise trees which bear fruit … I have to admit that I would not have gone down to check for myself if my beloved second half had not urged me to do so. In other words, I am also part of the group I mentioned earlier 😦

    Like

  2. It is incredible to think that the other residents in our neighbourhood do not seem to have bothered to pick any. To me, it simply shows how disconnected we have become from nature: unless fruit (which have been grown industrially, i.e. with pesticides) come wrapped in cellophane (which may include any or several of these toxic chemicals such as bisphenol A, tributyltin, triclosan or phthalates), people will not touch them, let alone eat them! Our world has been turned upside down …

    Like

  3. Hehehe … nak singgah ke Lausanne petik plums, Kak Maz? Tengah berlambak-lambak kat pokok tu! We just had plum cobbler with ice cream as dessert for dinner, jangan jeles … 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

