Balcony potager in August … before and after …

Taking advantage of some sunny moments during the past few days … I decided to start work on putting my balcony potager back into some semblance of order.

It is not that I did not enjoy the wild, unkept look which the potager had grown into while I was away for more than a month … but … I was not keen to start a shelter for homeless insects and bugs and then having them sneaking into our home, uninvited. So the best way to avoid having unwanted visitors of the creepy, crawly kind sneaking inside is to keep my balcony potager as tidy and as clean as possible lah!

Although I had moments of feeling a little overwhelmed by the amount of work that I had to do … I persevered.

And yesterday, I was happy to see that my balcony potager was finally starting to look a lot tidier than when I had arrived back home …. pheww!!

The before

SAM_8510ADSCN2137A

DSCN2121A

DSCN2176A

DSCN2100A

And the after

SAM_8709A

SAM_8635A

SAM_8707A

SAM_8636A

SAM_8720AThe two plastic bags of potato plants are taking the front stage … because they are only days away from being harvested! Now that there is some free space on the balcony to spread out the potatoes for harvesting, the hubby and I shall soon be able to enjoy some freshly harvested potatoes!

And after that, the garlic plants will join in the harvest celebration, too. Meanwhile … I am more than happy to continue harvesting whatever that can be harvested right now … 🙂

Previous entries on balcony potager in August:

 

5 thoughts on “Balcony potager in August … before and after …

  1. As I go by the nickname of the ‘water guy’ (which was attributed to me a year ago – see the entry ‘I am back … !!’), I must reiterate that there was not much watering to do this time during CT’s absence. This, I also feel inclined to emphasize, was one of the reasons why I did not find it very conducive to participating more actively in the ‘upkeep’ of the balcony potager (i.e. being out there in the rain is not that great a prospect). 😦

    Like

  2. Talking about holidays in Andalusia and Barcelona … maybe we ought to consider Andalusia as a possible destination for our next holidays 😉 So many interesting places to visit, so few days of holiday 😉

    Like

  3. Hello Kak Maz, ‘Selamat Hari Raya’ to you and your family. Lucky you as Andalusia not only boasts of a rich past, but it also ‘possesses the most varied terrain and vegetation in all of Spain’ (to quote Encyclopædia Britannica). I am sure you will enjoy your trip there. Have a great time!

    Like

  4. Salam Kak Maz and famili! Selamat Hari Raya from the both of us, too. Yes, memang banyak pokok kat balcony. Yang ada tu masih belum besar lagi because last month, there had been a lot of rain but not enough sunshine. Wah … sedang bercuti nampaknya. Enjoy your trip to Spain. Stay safe and healthy!

    Like

  5. As salam CT n Paul. Selamat hari Raya walaupun terlambat. Still byk pokok in yr balcony. And masih ada semangat berkebun. Keep it up.
    We semua berada di Barcelona cuti skrg. Flying to Madrid few hrs from now then we will drive around Andalusia.
    Keep well and cheers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

