Let it snow, let it snow … not …!

After several forecasts of possible snowfall for the past 2-3 weeks … Mr Snow finally came to visit very early this morning. And he certainly came in a big way. Not just little snowflakes … but a real snowfall which lasted for a few hours!

Naturally, everybody … especially children … were sooo excited with his maiden visit. Even the hubby was very excited … as he promptly went out to the woods of Sauvabelin during his mid-day break to enjoy a run on the snow. 😀

Except maybe … me?

Well … I do love snowfall, especially when I do not have to go out and I am able to enjoy it from the comfort of our home … BUT … my work on the balcony is still not finished lah! Haizzz …

Of course, I have only myself to blame … as I had stopped working on the balcony after the earlier forecasts of possible snowfall did not happen. Instead, I was caught up with the excitement of doing my very first mushroom hunt with the daddy-man … and subsequently got stuck with the boring tasks of cleaning and drying the basketful of mushrooms which took several days! 😦

So … I totally forgot to check the méteo for when Mr Snow might make his grand appearance. Actually, I had also been hoping for a few warm and sunny days for me to start working again on the balcony before welcoming Mr Snow … but, obviously, he could no longer wait to come and pay us a visit!

SAM_1996 A

So I woke up this morning to this beautiful winter scene outside our bedroom window.

SAM_1997 A

It cannot be denied that all this white snow certainly made the whole area looked very different.

SAM_2025A

Indeed, the place suddenly looked so much lovelier than it was just a day earlier!

SAM_1993A

But this was not the scene that I had hoped to see … not anytime soon. Not until I have done whatever that I needed to do.

SAM_2008A

My poor babies … at least, those that I had not found the time to protect them from Mr Snow.

SAM_2015A

I had done some tidying … but as the weather had turned chilly and a little wet, it was not possible to spend as much time as I would have liked on the balcony.

First snowfall,

And now … they are all covered in snow! I can only hope that the snow will not last long … and that some sunny days will return for me to finish my work on the balcony!

For now … there is not much that I can do … except to try and enjoy the wintry scene.

SAM_2035A

The tower and the woods of Sauvabelin covered in snow … as seen from our bedroom window.

DSCN5759

And our flat and the area surrounding it covered in snow … as seen from the tower of Sauvabelin (photo taken by the hubby who had decided to go for a run in the woods and who had gone up the tower to enjoy the view). Our flat is the orange building right in the middle of the picture with a crane behind it.

SAM_2045A

This picture was taken when the snowfall had finally stopped in the afternoon and Lake Geneva became visible again.

SAM_2056A

It is definitely nice to be able to see and enjoy the snow again … especially on a nice clear day like today. If only it had come a week later after I have finished tidying our balcony and sorting out my plants.

SAM_2062A

A close-up of the lake area in the afternoon.

SAM_2087A

And later when it started to turn dark.

SAM_2085A

Some snowfall is to be expected tomorrow morning … which would mean that I should not be able to work on my balcony anytime soon.  Errr … except maybe … to try to make our (first) little snowman for this winter season perhaps? 😀

Entries on first day of snow in the previous years:

Leave a Reply

