A walk to the nearby fields of colza …

About two weeks ago, the hubby suggested that we take a walk to see the fields of colza at Epalinges before the season for colza would end. Having seen yellow-covered fields from the train during our excursion to Fribourg just a week earlier, I was more than happy to take up on the hubby’s suggestion.

We agreed on a day to go, which would be on the day that I had my class so that we could kill three birds with one stone.

As I had to take the métro to go home from class, I thought it would make economic sense to use the ticket to take the métro all the way to the last stop in Croisettes, where we would then walk to the fields of colza located further uphill. But before that … we decided to stop by the Coop supermarket so that we could also do some grocery shopping before the supermarket would close at 7.00pm.

Although the hubby had to carry the groceries while we did the walk to the colza fields … he did not mind. In fact, since I had my books in my bag, he even offered to carry my bag for me. But … in return, he expected me to walk all the way home instead of taking the métro from Croisettes after we had seen the colza fields! Sheesssh … 😦

Oh well … at least the return journey is downhill so it was not a very bad deal lah! Especially since he also let me take my own sweet time walking and exploring the fields and the wildflowers that I saw along the way.

Fortunately for us, that day proved to be one of the sunniest and warmest days that we had had in weeks! And until today … I am still waiting for that day to repeat itself! The weather forecast for the next few days does not look very promising … but, hopefully, it will improve as the month of June progresses.

Well … one can only hope lah! 🙂

A walk in Epalinges

Making our way (clockwise) towards Epalinges after doing our shopping in Croisettes. It was a warm and beautiful day … and evening, too.

SAM_3865.A

Reaching the fields where we had seen the colza fields two years ago when we went cycling in the area.

SAM_3866.A

The fields were planted with a different crop this year … as crop rotation is a common practice among farmers.

SAM_3897.A

A field which had already been tilled … but not yet planted (I think lah!)

SAM_3888.A

As we continued to walk along the small country road, I could see a field of colza in the distance … on the slope. But I did not have to walk all the way to that side in order to see my field of colza.

SAM_3896.A

Just further ahead at a junction, there was this big field of colza. Nice! 🙂

SAM_3925.A

Blue skies … and yellow fields … certainly made for nice Samsung and Nikon moments! Me with my new Samsung camera and the hubby with his compact Nikon camera. 😀

SAM_3928.A

So I snapped several photos of this field of colza … but, of course, I cannot upload all of them on this blog lah!

SAM_3932.A

This, however, is my favourite shots among the many that I took on that day of the fields of colza.

SAM_3943.A

As usual, the hubby offered to take some photos of me with the colza. Errr …. why not? Thankfully, I was not wearing yellow that day! 🙂

SAM_3954.A

After having our fill of taking photos of the field of colza at the junction of Route de Penau and Chemin de la Forêt (on the left of this picture) … we then walked to the other side (on the right of picture) …

SAM_3977.A

… to check another colza field near Route de Manloud. This was the field that I had seen earlier from a distance. Along the way, I stopped for quite some time as I tried to take several snapshots of a wildflower that I had spotted along the road … but that is for another sharing lah! 😉

SAM_3996.A

I saw more of the wildflower that I had taken a fancy to near this field of colza … and so, I spent just as long and as many shots photographing this wildflower …

SAM_4005.A

… as I did with the colza! 🙂 In fact …

SAM_3994.A

… I even got the hubby to help me to try and get some good shots of the wildflower that I fancied! hehehe … And as usual, my kind Ta indulged me lah! 😀

SAM_4040.A

And then it was time to go home as the sun was slowly starting to set. On our way back, we passed by the first field of colza. As there was such a nice glow to the field from the evening sun … naturally, we just had to stop to take a few more shots of the field of colza here … again!

SAM_4063.A

It was past 8.00pm when we left the fields to make our way home … happy that we had seen and had taken photos of our fields of colza for this year.

SAM_4061.A

And as it was such a beautiful evening, it was really no hardship to make our way home … on foot lah!

Walking home

From nature back to concrete (clockwise) … as we made our way home downhill … washed with the beautiful glow of the evening sun …

SAM_4128.A

… and with the beautiful Alps, be they French (right) or Swiss (left), … almost always in sight.

I was very glad that the hubby suggested that we went to see the nearby fields of colza. Given the lousy spring weather that we have had in May … it is during such excursions that beautiful spring moments are made of — something nice to remember of the spring of this year apart from the chilly weather and the brief snowfall in late May!!

Past entries on colza fields:

2 thoughts on “A walk to the nearby fields of colza …

  1. Jauh tempat tu dari flat kami lebih kurang 3.5km (uphill). All in all, kami berjalan nak dekat 3 jam tapi ada berhenti2 untuk ambil gambarlah! Orang2 pun orang2 lah! Cuma orang2 alaf baru — style mesti lebih sikit! hehehe … 😀

    Like

  2. Cantikkkk bunga Colza tu… Agak-agaknya berapa kilometer you berjalan kaki pada petang tu….dalam diam berjaya juga Paul membuat you berjalan untuk kesihatan.

    Rujuk gambar you di tepi padang Colza tu saya teringat sewaktu zaman kanak-kanak, pergi melawat datuk sebelah bapa saya di Kampung Chinchin, Jasin. Penduduk kampung tu bertanam padi, dan di tengah-tengah sawah diletakkan ‘orang-orang’ @ scare-crow……hari ini saya nampak you beraksi sebagai ‘orang-orang’ di padang Colza, tapi ‘orang-orang’ versi baru…hehehe…

    Like

Leave a comment