Balcony garden in April … jicama …

We have been very lucky to have a nice spell of warm sunny weather this week, especially today. So I am very, very glad that we are back home from our trip to Northern Italy … because, if not, I would have been worried about my little babies suffering from possible thirst without me around to water them. I was so glad that it rained over the weekend (as what had been the forecast) so that the plants were able to have a nice shower while we were away.

In fact, I was really surprised upon coming home on Sunday evening to see that not only the plants on the balcony were doing quite well … but that some of them even seemed to have thrived while I was away! I was happy to see that every single pot of strawberry plants that I have on the balcony (except for the seedlings which I am growing from seeds) is either flowering or about to flower! Yet, just last week before leaving, I could not see any flower buds in several of the pots. It was the same with the pots of chives – all five pots now have flower buds. And even the pot of wild garlic plants that I left outside in the shade seems to have adapted well to growing in a pot and have flower buds sprouting up. I was also very pleased to see my two pots of raspberries growing more leaves and shoots … and that the Bleu de Saint-Gall seed potatoes have finally sprouted well above the ground … joining the other two varieties of potatoes which have sprouted since more than a week ago.

Hmmm … does this mean that I should leave them behind more often? hehehe … 😉

Anyway, I have been busy these past few days … re-potting some of my seedlings into bigger pots as well as sowing some more seeds. One of the plants that was badly in need of another re-potting was the jicama.

DSCN6760 A

This was how the two pots (or to be more accurate two milk bottles) of jicama plants had looked at the beginning of April. I did not think that I would need to re-pot them again so soon … but as this was my first time growing them, obviously I was wrong!

SAM_1156.A

This was how they had looked like last week, two days before we left for our trip to Italy with the daddy-man. I had stuck a twig in each pot to help the plant to climb up when they started to grow taller … but it seemed that they grew too fast for the twigs!

SAM_1153 A

I found out last week that one of them had grown beyond the twig and managed to twirl itself around the handle that is used to bring down the shutter outside the window of the bedroom! Oh dear … I knew then that I would have to re-pot them soon before they start to climb all the way up to the ceiling!

SAM_1774.A

And this was yesterday. Both plants have now grown past the height of the twigs … and, in fact, the second plant was already starting to twirl around the same handle when I checked on them yesterday. (But I gently un-twirled it before I took this photo.)

SAM_1772.A

And the other jicama plant have climbed even higher up the handle of the shutter. Okay … I could not put it off any longer … so, today, I made sure that I set aside some time to re-pot them to a bigger pot with something even higher that they can climb up to.

SAM_1829 A

So now, they are in the living room … climbing up bamboo canes! At the rate that they are growing, I have no doubt that they will soon reach the top of the canes. But hopefully by then, the warm spring weather is here to stay and I shall finally be able to re-pot them outside into a grow bag where they will stay put until they give me some tubers for me to enjoy!

In the meantime … they can bask in the spring sunshine near the balcony door lah! 🙂

Related entries on balcony garden in April:

4 thoughts on “Balcony garden in April … jicama …

  1. Hi, welcome to Switzerland! The jicama plants were started from seeds that a kind friend of mine posted to me. They grew quite well initially but unfortunately, the cold season that year extended longer than expected which had an effect on the plants; and which meant that the warm season was also too short for any jicama tubers to form. There is an online site (located in the US) where you can purchase the jicama seeds (as well as other tropical plant seeds) if you want to get your hands on the seeds. http://www.tradewindsfruit.com/

    Like

  2. Hi, welcome to Switzerland! The jicama plants were started from seeds that a kind friend of mine posted to me. They grew quite well initially but unfortunately, the cold season that year extended longer than expected which had an effect on the plants; and which meant that the warm season was also too short for any jicama tubers to form. There is an online site (located in the US) where you can purchase the jicama seeds (as well as other tropical plant seeds) if you want to get your hands on the seeds. http://www.tradewindsfruit.com/

    Like

  3. Wow — so nice! How do you start the jicama? Do you get seeds for it somewhere? I would love to grow some (if its not too late to start it). I am new to switzerland, and came too late to grow much last summer, so am starting my first real balcony garden this spring! Thanks for all the tips and posts!

    Like

  4. Salam CT,

    Jangan tak tau, pokok-pokok tu semua rindu pada you masa you ke Italy dan sepakat nak berbunga sebab nak surprisekan you. Semuaya nampak sangat happy..! Tengok pokok sengkuang tu teringat saya pun ada benih sengkuang yang belum ditanam.

    Happy gardening..

    Like

Leave a Reply

