Sweet treats from the garden…

Finally, after waiting for two days to eat them … I got to have an ice-cream for dessert … with fresh strawberries from our balcony garden!

Yup, yup … we finally get to have our first taste of the strawberries which I have been growing on the balcony railing. A few of them had turned a pretty red since the beginning of the week .. and although I would have preferred to let them ripen a little longer … I thought that I had better harvest them before the birds would do the harvesting for me!  So two days ago, I decided to pick them so that we could have them with ice-cream for desserts. However, since we also had mangoes and honeydew to eat for dessert (since they were on sale), we only got to eat the strawberries this afternoon … on our balcony.

Hmmm … nothing is more satisfying than eating something picked fresh (or rather 2-days fresh) from one’s  own garden, no?

Okay … you can drool over the pictures! 😉

(Just move the pointer of your mouse on any picture to display background information or click to enlarge.)

The red-flowered Camara strawberries. The fruits are not as big as the other two types of strawberries that I harvested at the same time …

… but are sweeter.

The Gariguette strawberries, a French variety. I think they would have tasted sweeter (because this variety is supposed to be sweet) if I had let them ripen a little more. But I was eager to pick them … and I had no wish to let the birds have them for their dessert!

Especially these two which were hanging over the pot. It was hard to stop myself from picking them when I first saw them turning red! But I managed to persevere for nearly a week! hehehe … 🙂

And the strawberry plant which I bought from IKEA last year. It does not have the name of its variety … but it seems to be producing more fruit this year.

And the small harvest …  of different sizes, shapes and shades of red  They look like an odd bunch of strawberries, no? But each of them was deliciously savoured … I can tell you that! 🙂

Actually, I was tempted to eat all at one go … after trying one … but had to steel my heart to wait until the hubby could share in the small bounty. After this first harvest, I cannot wait to harvest again!!

Other entries related to strawberries:

3 thoughts on “Sweet treats from the garden…

  1. Syukur alhamdulilah….berbudi pada tanah memang tidak pernah mengecewakan. Enjoy your fruits.

    Like

Leave a Reply

