Wild strawberries picking…

The past few days have been days of discovery for me.

I am so happy to have discovered… that I do not have to go all the way to the wood at the parent’s place in Lucinges, France… to do my wild strawberry picking! hehehe… There are, in fact… plenty of these tiny strawberries at the woods and forest near us! Yeayyyy…… isn’t that wonderful? 🙂

I saw some when I was at Mont Sauvabelin… cheering the hubby during his Tower of Sauvabelin race last Thursday… and then on Saturday I saw a lot more of them when we were cycling through the countryside to Chalet Ă  Gobet to cheer our friends Franklin and Patricia during Lausanne Bicycle Day. In fact… I even saw some of these plants… but not as many as in Mont Sauvabelin and the countryside… not far from our place, too! hehehe… 🙂

And I was even happier to discover, just yesterday evening (when we went to pick the strawberries)… that the wild strawberries that grew near the Tower of Mont Sauvabelin… was of a different variety than the ones that I pinched from the parents!! Wahhhh … it feels like as if I hit a jackpot!! I had plucked two sampling plants to bring home, yesterday…. but in the midst of taking photos… I totally forgot about them! So… it seems that I will have to go there again…very soon… as I can’t wait to plant them on my balcony!!

Interested to see them in the wild? Then enjoy the photos!

The followings are the ones that we saw and picked… when we cycled through the countryside to go to Chalet Ă  Gobet… and on our way back (since we took a slightly different route coming back)… on Saturday.

Photo of wild strawberries.

It is easy to miss the plants unless you know what to look out for. But in this case… the red berries were a dead give-away! And these plants were just growing besides the road on an elevated ground… which was why I spotted them easily enough. Of course the other main reason was because we were going uphill… and so I decided to get off my bicycle to push it up the hill… which was why I spotted the wild strawberries along this stretch! hehehe… 🙂

Photo of wild strawberries.

The strawberry flowers and ripening fruits up closed…

Photo of wild strawberries.Photo of wild strawberries.

They looked as if they were just waiting for someone to come along and pick them… don’t you think so? 🙂

Photo of wild strawberries.

Well… I suppose most people would not bother to stop and pick… even if they did notice the ripen berries. But for a jakun like me… the hubby had to persuade me very very hard to leave the area… so that we can continue our way to Chalet Ă  Gobet to the bicycling event! kahkahkah… 🙂

Photo of wild strawberries.

Had to be very careful though when picking… because there were some plants with very nasty and sharp spines growing among the strawberries!

Photo of wild strawberries.

Just look at those lovely berries! Don’t they look tempting to you? 🙂

Photo of wild strawberries.

Can you spot the strawberry plants, here? The white small flowers gave the hint.

Photo of wild strawberries.

Wild strawberries are also known as Woodland Strawberries (Fragaria vesca).

Photo of wild strawberries.

Did you spot the strawberry flowers on the ground and under the shade?

According to Wikipedia their “typical habitat is along trails and roadsides, embankments, hillsides, stone- and gravel-laid paths and roads, meadows, young woodlands, sparse forest, woodland edges, and clearings. Often these plants can be found where they do not get sufficient light to form fruit.”

Photo of wild strawberries.

And true enough… I found these wild strawberries in places where they are partially hidden from direct sunlight… along the trails and roadsides, hillsides and woodland edges… as you can see in some of the photos, here.

Photo of wild strawberries.

This was where we went strawberries picking, yesterday evening… after a trip to the Tower of Sauvabelin. I will show you the photos that we took from the Tower at a later posting, ok?

Photo of wild strawberries.

The berries…  almost hidden among the bushes here… but you should be able to spot at least 2 if not 3 ripe strawberries in this picture!

Photo of wild strawberries.

From what I read on the internet… this variety is possibly known as Alpine Strawberries (Fragaria alpina)…

Photo of wild strawberries.

because the berries are larger, longer, and more pointed in shape… as compared to the ones that I have at home or the ones that we saw on our way to Chalet Ă  Gobet.

Photo of wild strawberries.

See… don’t they seem bigger comparatively to the other berries that I picked earlier?

Photo of wild strawberries.

The ones at home… before I picked them. See… they are rounder than the ones just above.

Photo of wild strawberries.

The ones on the left were the ones that I picked from the plants at home while the ones on the right were the ones that the hubby and I picked on our way to Chalet Ă  Gobet on Saturday. Although there are more berries from my own plants… but the sizes are more minuscule than the ones growing in the wild! So… maybe I should have just let them grow wild than try to grow them in a pot!

And how do they compare with the Alpine variety…?

*

*

Photo of wild strawberries.

They (on the left) do look bigger, generally…  and more pointed… than the woodland variety combined (on the right), no?

Okay… that’s it… I am going to make sure that I go and get my sampling plants this very evening. Can’t wait to start growing them in pots!!! At least I will not have to eat soooo many just to feel fulfilled!! muahahaha… 🙂

Other entries on berry-picking at Sauvabelin:

4 thoughts on “Wild strawberries picking…

  1. Hmm mata kucing and rambutan pun best jugak! Right.now… I tengah menanti bila Paul nak ajak pegi rumah parents dia utk petik buah cherries. Mak dia dah telepon bagi tau yg buah cherries dah masak merah.

    Like

  2. wah! bestnya…here my mata kucing tree also bearing lots of fruits…probably in a mnths time dah boleh harvesr n then followed by rambutan…tak sabar

    Like

  3. Not enough to make into tartlets given their sizes! I will have to go and pick some more when more of the strawberries are ripes! Even then… must go to several places if I want to have enough to do so! LOL… I just went to pick with hubby utk suka2… and semalam went again. But still… too little to do anything with it lah… 🙂

    Like

  4. Nice to eat when dip in chocolatte. Yummeh. Why not make fruit tartlet. Also yummy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

