Cock, dearest fowl… where art thou?

Finally, just a few days ago… I found out by chance… the answer to the question that had been nagging me ever since I moved to our current place… and whenever I heard it crow, for instance when I am out on the balcony or making my way to the métro station.

I know that the sound of the cock’s crow came from somewhere below (since we are situated further up the hill)… but I have never seen any cock… in the front yard or the back yard… of any of the houses that I could see below from my balcony. So, I just could not understand where does the cock… that has been crowing all these times… could possibly be?

But last week… while I was trying to take photos of the yellow wild flowers in the field not far from the métro station… and the goats that I saw there… I suddenly spotted the cock. Or maybe because it was crowing a bit… which therefore caught my attention!

Ahah… so this was where it had been hiding all this time! In one hidden corner of the field… away from plain sight from the road! But I did not see it… when I came to have a close look at the goats several months ago!? Hmmm… it must had been either catching a nap or hiding somewhere… at that time… maybe! But it certainly was “cocky” that day… strutting and looking at me, and even crowing a bit… while I was trying to capture its good look on camera! What a “cocky” fellow!!! 🙂

And….goats… you might wonder?? But that’s right, there are two goats there (in an area that has been fenced a little) just beside the field of wild flowers, which I first noticed several months ago… and even pointed them out to the hubby. Maybe a few dogs and several cats, in the area, too. Unfortunately, no cow with the trademark Swiss cow bells! 🙂  For that… I have to go further uphill… past Croisettes (the last métro station for the Lausanne M2 line) and I would see quite a number of them, there.

As I said before , I am so very glad to have moved to where we are now! And this is one of the many reasons: being so near to nature… and these animals… and yet not that far away from the city centre! I have the best of both world! I loikeeeee…..very, very much!

Well… it’s not perfect, still. But almost!! 🙂

The two goats… munching on the grass happily… underneath the cherry trees. But these cherry trees are not fruiting… as well as that of the parents!

And the elusive cock… strutting under the shade of one of several cherry trees, there…. with two hens in the background. Nice to finally see and meet you, Mr Cock… and your “hen-rem”, too! Hope to hear many more cock-a-doodle-doo from you! 🙂

The animals… together… mostly hidden by another field in front (along the road) which is on a higher ground.

ps: the pictures did not turn out very well… as the area was fenced up… and I had to manoeuvre my camera lens through the fence hole to take unobstructed shots.

Leave a Reply

