20km de Lausanne 2011…

30th edition of 20km de Lausanne, 30 April 2011Saturday was a very rushing and tiring day. Beside doing our weekly grocery shopping, we even found time to do some tramping to the nearby countryside to search for something… and then… went to the 20km de Lausanne race event in the evening. By the time we got home… it was nearly 10pm!

20km de Lausanne (the 3rd most popular race event in Switzerland after La Course de l’Escalade and The Grand Prix of Berne, having attracted for the 30th edition on 30 April 2011 18,170 runners in all)… is one of the two important dates in our diary of event for this spring… because… the hubby would be taking part in it for the very first time! That’s right…he decided he would try to do the 20km run… and he did… I am proud to say. 🙂

And again… (like the Christmas midnight run last December)… his race was the last one of the event! They had the shorter running events (including those for young children) start earlier but the main event was saved for the very last. It was nice to see all the runners and their supporters at the starting and ending points…. plus… those supporters along the routes that the runners took… shouting encouragements. It was so merry… especially since the Circus was chosen as the theme for this year. Unfortunately… not many runners chose to dress up in the theme. Otherwise… it would had made for very interesting photo-taking!

Ok…not going to talk much about it… but will let the pictures tell the story. Here are the Nikon-captured moments… of the run… on and off the course.

The following photos show the buzz of activities at the start point of 20km de Lausanne 2011

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

The first group of the men 20km race…starting off their run. The winners naturally came from this group of runners, including the first prize winner, Kimaiyo Dickson Kimutai, a Kenyan who broke a new record at 1 hr 13 sec, despite not being in the first line up. In case you are curious where he is in the photo… he is the small guy in orange-coloured top on the right, behind the guy in yellow top.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

There were at least 6 groups for the 20km run with both male and female runners starting together. The groups were arranged… I think… according to the time taken by the runners to finish the race in the previous edition of the race they took part in. Some of the runners carried balloons (yellow coloured ones for the above group) with the aimed time for the group written on the balloons. These runners are the pace-setters. I didn’t realise this until the hubby mentioned it once we were home.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

And off they go… these batch of runners. In the meantime, another group is waiting behind the white line (at the back of picture) for their turn, next.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

The next group moving forward to take their place at the starting line.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

And then…. off they went!!

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

The bend just a few metres from the departing line.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

And finally… the last group (where the hubby… being a first time participant… is assigned to) taking their positions at the starting line. A guy even decided to run with his son in a pram (who was strangely dressed in radiation protection suit as a statement against nuclear plants)… with music playing on a stereo!! Oh là là.… what an interesting participant (or rather one and half participants), no? 🙂

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

And then off they went… the last batch of 20km runners. Good luck everyone…. especially to my Ta!!

And then the followings are shots of the runners along the course route. As we had to walk from the train station to the main event area (because of traffic disruptions due to closure of some major roads)… I managed to capture quite a number of pictures of the 10km runners during their run…on my way! The hubby of course… had gone earlier to collect his name tag and number!

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

Quite a big crowd waiting and cheering the runners at this juncture near Milan Park.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

Nice to see even babies and toddlers in prams… turning up to support the event!! In fact, the hubby mentioned that there was even an unofficial water station put up by the local residents in la Cité (old town)! What a grand gesture in support of the runners and the event… I’ll say!

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

One of the road junctures that separated the route for the 10km run and that for the 20km run.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

Children who had run in the earlier race for the children’s group … lending their support to the adult runners. What a spirit! And if you notice… the children love holding out their hands to the runners. Initially I had thought they knew some of the runners… until I realised they did not… and that there were many other children who did the same, too!!

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

Hmmm… not sure whether they counted how many hands they got to slap…. as did the hubby! He claims to have slapped at least 50 little hands during his run!! hehehe 🙂

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

A runner happily slapped the outstretched hand of a little one… while she was being carried by her mother!

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

Err…. wasn’t there a saying that goes… two hands are better than one? Must be true in this case…. although I have seen him resting one tired hand at times. 🙂

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

I think this is what one calls… picnic by the roadside! hehehe 🙂 This couple came prepared with drinks and snacks while they cheer the runners passing through that street. Well… they were not the only ones… I can assure you!

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

The junction… where I stood and sat… waiting for the hubby to run past on his way back to the stadium!

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

Going down… down… the slope…and getting nearer and nearer to the end point.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

A nice area just before the runners entered a huge park…

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

… which is one of the more scenic routes along the course… I’m sure.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

Really… it was a beautiful park… which I only discovered that day thanks to the race!

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

The park is about 2.5km away from the finishing line at the stadium.

And here are the shots taken at the end point at Stade de Pierre Coubertin

Photo of Sauvabelin Tower

There was quite a huge crowd inside the stadium.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

Intermingling of both participants (with their medals)… and the supporters.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

Some of the female runners in the 10km run reaching the finishing line. Well done, ladies!! Bravo!!

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

The medals waiting to be given away to runners who successfully completed their run. There is also a certificate… which the winners can print from the internet.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

Some of the race finishers after having collected their medal.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

And then… proceeding to the refreshment area. As for those in need of some pampering after the hard run… free massage was provided (I was told!)

And the followings are those of the hubby taking part in the event…

Hubby, 30th edition of Lausanne 20km Run 2011

Preparing his tag before the run (left pic) and later… all geared up and ready for his turn (right)… but minus the haversack, of course! That’s where yours truly came in… camera woman cum bag keeper! 🙂

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

Hubby …. among the last to leave the departing line (he’s the one behind the sign and the guy in blue)… and about to start his 20km run.

From the departure point… it was mostly an uphill run (although certain stretches of the course are less steep than others)… before making a downward turn at the Place du Château (536m) to return to the finishing line at the Pierre de Coubertin Stadium in Vidy (376m).

Hubby, 30th edition of Lausanne 20km Run 2011

Even had time to glance back for a photo shot!! hehehe… 🙂 I had stationed myself on a raised platform cum sitting area for a better view of the departures.

Hubby, 30th edition of Lausanne 20km Run 2011

I decided to station myself at this particular point for a while to see if I would be able to catch the hubby running past. After about 15 mins… true enough I saw him coming. I was so excited to see him and was trying to get him to notice me (which he did not!)… that I forgot to take a picture when he was arriving near the area. Which is why lah I ended up taking a photo of his back, instead! Silly me…

Hubby, 30th edition of Lausanne 20km Run 2011

The same thing got repeated later when I stationed myself at another area further along the route (in earlier picture)… where I was hoping to catch him on his way back down to the stadium. This time… I made sure that I was sitting and standing in a spot where there was no one nearby so that he could see me… which of course he did not, again! And again… I was so excited to spot him a second time that by the time I remembered to take a photo, he had already ran past me! Wahh…. so unlucky one!!

So what do you think… I did? I ran after him lah… with his rucksack behind my back and my own bag slung across my shoulder… hehehe…

I was hoping to get far in front of him so that I could turn to take a photo of him running towards me. But it was tough trying to run fast carrying two bags plus a camera slung across my neck… and with my right wrist in a sling. But still…. it got the hubby to notice me and he said he had never seen me running faster than him before this!! hahaha…. 🙂  So.. in the end, I got another side shot of him… again!

Hubby, 30th edition of Lausanne 20km Run 2011

In the end, the hubby took pity on me and decided to stop for a few seconds so that I could snap a photo of him. Not the kind of photo that I was aiming for but better than nothing lah!! At this juncture… the hubby was already about 16km into the race.

Hubby, 258th finisher, 30th edition of Lausanne 20km Run 2011

And finally… the hubby with his medal… after finishing the race at 258th position out of 2,467 male runners in his category. Hmmm… not bad, huh… for a first timer in this event? Unfortunately… he lagged behind his ‘ideal’ target time by 2 mins, completing his run in 1hr 41m. But he knew it would be hard, having not trained hard enough. Oh well… better run… next time lah Ta!?

And some of the music entertainment at the main area… and along the route…

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

This strangely-garbed music band played really nice and lively music. It was hard not to want to dance along with the conductress… who was dancing while leading her band.

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

And this percussionist group played… nearly non-stop during the whole time that I was near the area… and later when I came back to the stadium to catch the end of the race.

This time round… as I was busy scurrying here and there… hoping to catch the hubby at the different points… I totally missed on checking out the activities that they had at the main area near the stadium… including some circus performances! And even missed on the main winners’ prize-giving ceremony, too! Just too bad lah! But… if you are interested in knowing who are the winners, you can click here.

And other forms of entertainment… 🙂

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

A few of the funny men running the race… that I managed to capture on camera 🙂

And of course…. this little one that really made me smile with his antics… after the end of the races…

Photo of 30th edition of 20km de Lausanne 2011

A champion in the making… maybe??  He was busy running from one end to another, several times! And when he reached towards where the family were standing, each time… some of the brothers and sisters (or cousins, maybe?) would hold out their hands for him to slap on it! So adorable!! Well… as they say… it’s never too young to start (practising) !!! hehehe 🙂

The event had been most exciting… and by the end of the race… I was equally tired … and hungry… as the hubby!  hahaha…

And funnily…. I was the one ended up limping on our way home… from a sprained back knee even though I was not the one taking part in the race! But hei… at least the hubby was happy that I was there to support him. He even offered to massage my leg for me! hahaha…

But we also learnt a few lessons from doing this event…which we hope not to repeat at the next race coming up in 2 weeks’ time… the Geneva Marathon. Oh yes… the hubby is going to run in that one, too. So… it will be his 4th race in 6 months! And what were the lessons that we learnt?

  1. That it was a bad idea for him to wear the event t-shirt which made it difficult for me to spot him in a crowd! Especially when the hubby is not very tall! So, I told him to wear something more conspicuous for the Geneva marathon so that I may already spot him from far!! (psst…. in fact he promised to wear a costume at next year’s event! Hmmm… we shall see… :-))
  2. That I should have something to make my presence known to him. Those big coloured hands that I received taking part in the National Day back in my uni days… would have been so “handy”. Alternatively I suppose I will have to get myself a whistle for the Geneva marathon!!
  3. And beside drinks…I think a nice snack would be nice too… while I wait for the hubby to finish the marathon!

Hubby’s account of his participation in the 32nd edition (2013)

6 thoughts on “20km de Lausanne 2011…

  1. Pingback: 20km de Lausanne 2013 … what a disapointment … quelle déception | à la mode de chez nous

  2. Pingback: Is it possible to run a marathon with minimal training? « à la mode de chez nous

  3. Pingback: 14th World Gymnaestrada… Lausanne 2011… « Just Sharing…

  4. Pingback: Genève Marathon for UNICEF 2011… « Just Sharing…

  5. Pingback: In search of colza… « Just Sharing…

  6. Pingback: Morges… in spring… « Just Sharing…

Leave a Reply

